HORSES

whiteslice

I had the good fortune in my forties and fifties to have good friends, Bill and Laura, who kept horses in the Cuyahoga valley where on occasion I could ride.

cahill1

slice3slice3

Considering me a neophyte rider, my friends always rode slowly because of my lack of skill, but one day I went out with an experienced rider who had no regard for my timidity. As soon as he galloped my horse followed and I immediately learned to gallop through the oats field.

cahill8
cahill14

My fascination with horses goes back to my childhood when an uncle took me and my cousins for Sunday rides in the country and stopped to feed sugar cubes to horses in their pastures.

Since then I’ve sought pastured horses in my travels.

These horses are from Carriage Hill Farm in Dayton, Cottonwood, Idaho and Florida.

cahill18

cahill16

florida

idahoe

two

Every kid’s delight, of course, is to have a pony…or at least one to ride on occasion.

ponie

twokids

…another thing I used to do!

.

.

About paaron1

Octogenarian
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HORSES

  1. Rachel Chadwick says:

    Thanks,  Phil,      I’m enjoying your horse pics.  I always wanted a horse when I was a little girl.  I think you would enjoy a trip to Linda Watkins’ farm to see her horse when the weather gets nicer.    See you at coffee hour on March 14th.            Stay warm and safe, Rachel

    ________________________________

  2. watkinsloa@aol.com says:

    Phil,

    We will have find a riding date, Phil ! Wait ’til the weather is nicer….

    Linda

  3. Test says:

    I would love to re post this entry on my own website will that be okay

Leave a Reply

