APRIL SHOWERS

(click on the title to see a more attractive version. click on any image for a larger picture)

poppieslice

Ever since I can remember the saying was “April showers bring May flowers” In grade school every kid brought in a bouquet of flowers from the garden at home to adorn the May Altar. Every day it was flowers from floor to ceiling! So, I’ve collected a few May flowers in memory of those days. First, peonies from Woodland Cemetery. In the grade school classroom these were always accompanied by ants!

pionies

And then the perennial iris also found in Woodland.

blueirishoriz

blueiris2

blueiris

iiris

To see the best  flowers you have to get into the woods to view the hidden gems of spring:

mayappleblossom

ewflocks

albertaearlycrocci

fountainrosesMay-apple, crocus and phlox and there are always roses.

About paaron1

Octogenarian
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to APRIL SHOWERS

  1. wigalroom says:

    body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}Hi PhilI posted on the Common Bond site a list of blogs by Marianists as from the current  Family On line. I hope it help generate some traffic to the blogs by Bonders.I know we both use WordPress.  A. J. Wagner uses it also. Which is OK. But for some reason his site notes my site in his upper right corner, or I wonder if that link appears only when I access his site.My blog is a list of the content in 20 some current publications. So far I have no idea if enough people care about this to keep it going.Your reflections on nature help me recall what trees and grass are, none of which I see from my windors 8 floors above 34th Street at Park in Manhattan.Don

  2. RJ says:

    Is it safe to assume that your eye and leg troubles have not completely hobbled you and are still getting out and about walking, even if not as much or as quickly as you were or would prefer?

    These pictures are great, by the way.

  3. Erin says:

    Peonies! I love them! I would always bring them in grade school to my teacher on the first day of school! (and you’re right the ants are always crawling all over them). I owe you like four emails! I promise to be in touch soon. I hope you’re well. Love and miss you!

  4. watkinsloa@aol.com says:

    Thanks for the pics… We have some of the very flowers : violet iris and deep red peonies . I have never been successful with the orange ones… Linda

Leave a Reply

